thanks Dr. Drew

As my last post mentioned,  I went through many, many doctors and many different diagnoses before reaching one of endometriosis.

My mom sent me this article about Dr. Drew and his feelings towards endometriosis. Now, I only know of Dr. Drew from MTV’s Teen Mom and have never had good or bad feelings towards him.

As disgusting, heartbreaking, and frustrating this article is to read, I know that he isn’t the only who feels this way, and that this is actually more common than most people would think.

I am posting the link to the article about Dr. Drew’s feelings towards endometriosis below,  however here is a summary for those who don’t have time:

“These are what we call sort of functional disorders. Everything you mentioned, everything you mentioned, are things that actually aren’t discernibly pathological. They’re sort of — they’re what we call ‘garbage bag disorders,’ when you can’t think of anything else, you go ‘eh, well it’s that.’ So it then makes me question why is she so somatically preoccupied that she’s visiting doctors all the time with pains and urinary symptoms and pelvic symptoms, and then that makes me wonder, was she sexually abused growing up?” – Dr Drew

Link to the article:

 http://jezebel.com/dr-drew-insults-women-with-endometriosis-ignites-mass-1568906681

This past weekend, I had two simliar disucssions with both my grandma and mom.  Both resulted in me venting and them trying to make me feel better, with a little ranting in between.

My mom’s ranting came from the place of a doctor’s view who is trying treat you. I was having a hopeless, disappointed, sad day concerning my endo and was frustrated with the lack of help from doctors. My mom reminded me that as a doctor, you came into this field to ‘fix’ people. How awful must it be to know what’s wrong with someone and be unable to fix them?

My grandma’s rant came from a place of wonder as to how people and doctor’s especially can be so uneducated. If this is so common (1/1o women) and doctor’s study so many chronic illnesses, how can they be so clueless when it comes to endometriosis. I can honestly say I”ve had to explain endometriosis to more doctors than they have explained it to me.

Well, end rant. Thanks alot Dr. Drew. If my debilitating illness doesn’t hurt enough already, now my feelings are hurt as well.

 

1 thought on “thanks Dr. Drew”

Leave a comment